Is there a use for Second Life?

One thought on “Is there a use for Second Life?”

  1. I enjoyed the session, but this and previous attempts to engage with
    Second Life for education left me with a fundmental problem ? the avatar
    naming policy forces a disconnect of self through the imposition of
    alternate names ? in other words, I have to interact as ?Gann McGann?,
    not Steve Carpenter. This might be useful for subjects where personas
    are already used (Theatrical Studies. Psychology etc.) but for teaching
    I?d rather be ?me? and interact with my peers as themselves. The
    schizophrenia example was quite compelling though ? it certainly showed
    how SL can be used to enhance understanding, and I think the theatre
    reconstruction showed how it can be used to convey a sense of space and
    immersion.
    The programming teaching idea is interesting ? LSL looks similar(ish) to
    C. Let me know if you plan to try it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

